Selected chronology of books by Robert Coles (b.1930)

A Study in Courage and Fear, vol. I of Children in Crisis, 1967.

Erik H. Erikson: The Growth of His Work, 1970.

Migrants, Sharecroppers, Mountaineers, vol. 2 of Children in Crisis, 1971.

The South Goes North, vol 3 of Children in Crisis, 1971.

Farewell to the South, 1972.

Eskimos, Indians, Chicanos, vol. 4 of Children in Crisis, 1977.

The Privileged Ones, vol 5 of Children in Crisis, 1977.

Walker Percy: An American Search, 1978.

William Carlos Williams: The Knack for Survival, 1983.

Dorothea Lange, 1984.

Moral Life of Children, 1986.

Political Life of Children, 1986.

Dorothy Day: A Radical Devotion, 1987.

Simone Weil: A Modern Pilgrimage, 1987.

Times of Surrender: Selected Essays, 1988.

Harvard Diaries: Reflections of the Sacred and the Secular, 1988.

That Red Wheelbarrow: Selected Literary Essays, 1988.

The Call of Stories: Teaching and the Moral Imagination, 1989.

Rumors of Separate Worlds (poems), 1989.

Women in Crisis, I, Lives of Struggle and Hope (with Jane Coles), 1989.

The Spiritual Life of Children, 1990.

Anna Freud: The Dream of Psychoanalysis, 1992.

Flannery OíConnorís South, 1993.

The Call of Service: A Witness to Idealism, 1993.

The Secular Mind, 1999.

For Children

Dead End School
The Grass Pipe
Saving Face
Riding Free

Return to Caxtonian table of contents

Return to the Caxton Club home page