A chronology of books by Philip Appleman


The Silent Explosion, 1965 (non-fiction)

Kites on a Windy Day, 1967 (poetry).

Summer Love and Surf, 1968 (poetry).

In the Twelfth Year of the War, 1970 (fiction).

Open Doorways, 1976 (poetry).

Shame the Devil, 1981 (fiction).

Darwin’s Ark, 1984 (poetry).

Darwin’s Bestiary, 1986 (poetry).

Apes and Angels, 1989 (fiction).

Let There Be Light, 1991 (poetry).

New and Selected Poem, 1956-1996, 1996 (poetry).

Edited Volumes

Victorian Studies (founding co-editor and first General Editor, 1956-64).

1859: Entering an Age of Crisis, 1959.

Darwin, 1970; Revised Editions, 1979 and 2001.

The Origin of Species, 1975.

Malthus: An Essay on the Principle of Population, 1976.

Return to Musings

Return to Caxtonian table of contents

Appleman's Darwin<

Cover of Appleman's Darwin with an early oil portrait of Darwin, from the Royal College of Surgeons of England.