Chronology of books by F. Scott Fitzgerald 1896-1940


This Side of Paradise*, 1920.

Flappers and Philosophers, 1921.

The Beautiful and the Damned, 1922.

Tales of the Jazz Age, 1922.

The Vegetable; or, from President to Postman, 1923. 

The Great Gatsby, 1925.

All the Sad Young Men, 1926.

Tender is the Night, 1934.

Taps at Reveille, 1935.

The Last Tycoon, ed. Edmund Wilson, 1941.

*All books first published by Charles Scribner & Sons, New York.

Return to Fitzgerald article

Return to Caxtonian table of contents

The Great Gatsby

Dust jacket for first edition of The Great Gatsby, © 1996, by the Board of Trustees of the University of South Carolina; from the university’s website.