A selected chronology of John Muir's books (1838-1914)


Picturesque California and the Region West of the Rocky Mountains, from Alaska to Mexico, 1888-1890. Complete text of Muir’s writings in this book he edited.

The Mountains of California, 1894.

Our National Parks, 1901.

Strickeen, 1909 (longer version) and 1915 (shorter version).

My First Summer in the Sierra, 1911.

Edward Henry Harriman, 1911.

The Yosemite, 1912.

The Story of My Boyhood and Youth, 1913.

Letters to a Friend, 1915.

Travels in Alaska, 1915.

A Thousand-Mile Walk to the Gulf, 1916.

The Cruise of the Corwin, 1917.

Steep Trails, 1919.

Return to John Muir

Return to Caxtonian table of contents